Tired of Doing Good

Read Galatians 6:1-10

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up” Galatians 6: 9

I have to confess I get a little irritated every time I go out and see that someone has thrown trash from their car into our front yard. Almost every day I have to pick up trash that someone else has thrown out. It’s hard not to be angry at those people who are throwing trash on our lawn.

I have attempted to battle my frustration by making myself pray for the people who throw the trash. I think this is a good habit. It moves me from being angry and frustrated and redirects my energy to something more positive. And although God does not force people to change, I do believe God responds to our prayers.

There will always be destructive, lazy, selfish people in the world, people who will spend their time tearing down what has been built. There have always been people like that. The world sinks into despair when we give into the temptation to join the selfish and destructive. When people treat us that way, it’s easy to join them.

Our life in Christ calls us to be creators, builders, healers, people who repair the broken things. Not everything can be cleaned up and the job will never be completed, but God gives us hope in Christ that there is rebuilding and new life, not merely tearing down and using up.

Let’s not only pray together for those who mess things up, let’s pray that God will give us the strength to always be builders and healers.

Love in Christ,
Greg Burriss, Pastor
Rocky River Baptist Church
Siler City, NC

Leave a Reply

